D.PE logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

D.PE Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling

TL;DR
  • The reviewed ACOPNE sources publish no fixed D.PE testing windows; assessment is a credentials review plus a panel oral assessment.
  • Required assessments must be completed within 12 months of application acceptance, and one retake is allowed on request within that period.
  • The application fee is USD 350 for ASCE and/or Institute members or USD 450 for nonmembers, and is nonrefundable.
  • Initial certification expires 31 December of the following year, then renews annually with 20 PDHs, including 2 ethics PDHs.

Why There Is No Fixed Testing Calendar

Candidates searching for "D.PE exam dates 2026" usually expect a calendar of computer-based testing windows with registration cutoffs and a scheduling portal. Diplomate, Port Engineering (D.PE) does not work that way, and understanding the difference will save you weeks of fruitless searching.

D.PE is the legacy designation for a board certification administered by the Academy of Coastal, Ocean, Port & Navigation Engineers (ACOPNE), which sits within ASCE Civil Engineering Certification (CEC). The issuer's current designation is Board-Certified Port Engineer (BC.PE). The assessment is not a seat-time exam sold in fixed testing windows. It is a credentials review followed by a panel oral assessment. In the sources reviewed for this article (verified 7 October 2026), no fixed annual testing windows, registration deadlines, or dated exam sittings are specified.

What this means for your planning: Do not wait for a "window" to open. Your effective deadline is driven by when your application is accepted, because the 12-month assessment clock starts at acceptance. The real scheduling work is getting your eligibility file complete, then coordinating the oral assessment with the issuer.

If you want the broader picture of what the credential is before you plan dates, see What Is D.PE Certification? and What Does D.PE Stand For?. For a view of whether the effort is justified, Is the D.PE Certification Worth It? covers the return-on-investment angle.

What Replaces the Seat-Time Exam

The assessment has two parts, and each has its own scheduling implications.

Part 1: Credentials review

ACOPNE reviews your application evidence before any oral session is arranged. That evidence includes a CV and at least 3 licensed PE references from 3 different organizations. Because the reference requirement spans three separate organizations, gathering references is often the slowest part of the process. Plan to contact referees early, since their availability, not an exam calendar, frequently sets your pace.

Part 2: Panel oral assessment

When required, the oral assessment opens with a 30-minute project or career presentation, followed by questioning and possible unseen professional-judgment scenarios. The 30 minutes covers the presentation only; the full assessment duration is not specified in the reviewed issuer sources, so do not assume a total length. The issuer also says the oral assessment may be waived in rare circumstances, but you should not plan around a waiver.

The panel evaluates advanced technical competence, responsible charge, continuing development, and current technical practice. That framing shapes how you prepare: you are demonstrating judgment on real port work, not recalling formulas against a clock. Our guide on how hard the D.PE exam is explains why this format feels different from a standard multiple-choice credential.

Scheduling FeatureWhat the Reviewed Sources Say
Fixed testing windowsNot specified
Assessment formatCredentials review plus panel oral assessment (may be waived in rare circumstances)
Presentation length30 minutes (presentation only)
Full assessment durationNot specified
Completion deadlineWithin 12 months of application acceptance
RetakesOne, on request, within the same 12-month period

Eligibility Gates That Come Before Any Date

You cannot schedule an assessment until your application is accepted, and acceptance depends on meeting the baseline requirements. The eligibility rules come from CEC Rule 3, Baseline Requirements for Post-Licensure Certifications (revised 1 July 2024). In summary:

  • Active port practice.
  • A relevant bachelor's degree from an ABET-accredited program, or an accepted relevant postgraduate substitute.
  • A current PE license or approved equivalent.
  • Experience of 10 progressively responsible years after the bachelor's degree, including 8 in port engineering, or 15 total with 13 in the specialty if you lack qualifying postgraduate education.

Qualifying postgraduate education means a relevant postgraduate degree, at least 30 relevant academic postgraduate credit hours, or a recognized advanced certificate, paired with additional experience as an alternative path. A relevant master's degree earns 1 year of experience credit and a relevant PhD earns 3 years. Continuing education units are not equivalent to academic postgraduate credit hours, a distinction that trips up applicants who assume workshop hours count.

Education-credit shortcut to know about: The current ACOPNE certification page allows applicants who complete the separate ASCE-COPRI Port Engineering Certificate to apply 30 graduate-level education hours toward port board-certification eligibility. Its course assessments are distinct from the certification assessment, so finishing the certificate does not replace the panel review. If you are close on the education side, timing the certificate completion ahead of your application can pull your eligibility date forward.

Applicants working and permanently resident in a country without a PE or approved equivalent have a 15-total/13-specialty experience alternative. For the full qualification walkthrough, read D.PE Requirements: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.

The 12-Month Clock and the One Retake

The single most important date rule in the reviewed sources comes from the CEC Bylaws and Rules (October 2025 compilation, Rule 4, revised 13 October 2025): required assessments must be completed within 12 months of application acceptance. One retake is allowed on request within that same period.

This shapes your scheduling strategy in three practical ways:

  1. Do not apply early to "lock in" a slot. Applying before you are ready starts a clock you cannot pause. Submit when your presentation is drafted and your references are confirmed.
  2. Leave room for the retake. Because the retake must fall inside the same 12-month window, attempting the first oral assessment in month 11 leaves almost no room to use it. Aim for a first attempt well before the midpoint.
  3. Treat the retake as a safety net, not a plan. Only one is permitted, and it must be requested. See D.PE pass rate and D.PE passing score for why you should not expect numbers here: the reviewed sources specify no numerical pass mark and no official pass rate.

Key Takeaway

Count backward from the 12-month limit. Reserve the last third of the window as retake buffer, and schedule your first oral assessment in the first half.

Fee Mechanics and Timing

The application fee is nonrefundable and covers review, the oral assessment, and initial certification. It is USD 350 for ASCE and/or Institute members and USD 450 for nonmembers. Because it is nonrefundable and tied to a 12-month clock, the timing of payment is effectively the timing of commitment.

Fee ItemMembers (ASCE and/or Institute)Nonmembers
Application fee (nonrefundable; includes review, oral assessment, initial certification)USD 350USD 450
Annual renewalUSD 200USD 250

The USD 100 difference between member and nonmember application pricing is worth weighing against the cost of membership if you are not already a member, though you should confirm current membership pricing directly with ASCE. A full breakdown of all costs, including preparation spend, is in D.PE Certification Cost: Complete Pricing Breakdown.

Sequencing Your Preparation by Domain

Because the oral panel draws on port engineering practice, your preparation order should reflect where the panel is most likely to probe your depth. The reviewed scope source lists five unweighted competency categories. They are published assessment competencies used as preparation topics, not a separately published written-exam syllabus, and no official percentage weights exist. For a full walk-through, see D.PE Exam Domains: Complete Guide to All 5 Content Areas.

Domain 1: General Knowledge

Start here because it frames how you describe your own career in the presentation.

  • Be ready to place your projects within the wider port and coastal engineering landscape.
  • Prepare to discuss responsible charge, since the panel explicitly evaluates it.

Domain 2: Design of Port Facilities

Typically the deepest technical area for most candidates and the one most likely to anchor your project presentation.

  • Choose a design project where you can explain decisions, alternatives rejected, and trade-offs.
  • Expect follow-up questions that test whether you can defend criteria, not just describe outputs.

Domain 3: Construction of Port Facilities

Connects design intent to field reality.

  • Review how construction methods, sequencing, and site conditions affect design assumptions.
  • Prepare examples where field conditions forced a change and how you exercised judgment.

Domain 4: Environmental Considerations in Port Engineering

Often underprepared by candidates whose careers skew toward structures.

  • Be ready to discuss environmental constraints as design and construction inputs, not afterthoughts.
  • Identify a project where environmental factors shaped your approach.

Domain 5: Operation and Maintenance of Port Facilities

Tests whether you think beyond commissioning.

  • Prepare to discuss lifecycle performance, inspection, and maintenance consequences of design choices.
  • Link operational feedback to current technical practice.
Scope caveat worth knowing: The PEBOK introduction requires mastery of at least one advanced outcome, while its detailed clause requires expert-level mastery of a majority of technical outcomes 5-15 plus at least one professional outcome 16-21. These two statements are not reconciled in the reviewed sources, so prepare broadly rather than betting on the narrower reading. The D.PE study guide and D.PE cheat sheet help you structure that breadth.

Certification Year-End Dates After You Pass

The dates that do appear in the sources concern validity, and they are easy to misread. Initial certification expires 31 December of the following year, then renews annually. In practice this means the calendar year in which you are certified gives you a built-in extension: certify early in a year and you get nearly two years before your first renewal obligation; certify late in a year and the gap is shorter.

Active renewal requires:

  • A valid professional engineering license.
  • 20 relevant PDHs annually, including 2 ethics PDHs.
  • USD 200 for ASCE and/or Institute members or USD 250 for nonmembers.

The practical implication for timing: if two assessment slots are possible, there is a modest advantage to certifying earlier in a calendar year, because the first expiry date is fixed at the end of the following year regardless of when in the year you certify. Start logging PDHs from the day you are certified, and keep ethics hours visible so the 2-hour requirement is not left to December. For what the credential does for your career afterward, see D.PE Salary Guide and D.PE Jobs; note that those pages discuss career context and do not imply guaranteed outcomes.

A Planning Timeline Built Around the Panel

This is the one structured study section, and it ties each phase to the D.PE-specific milestones above rather than to a generic weekly template. Adjust the length to your own file; the 12-month assessment clock begins only at application acceptance, so most of this runs before you apply.

Before applying

Eligibility and file assembly

  • Confirm degree, PE status, and the 10-year or 15-year experience path against CEC Rule 3.
  • Secure 3 licensed PE references from 3 different organizations.
  • Draft your CV and select the project for your 30-minute presentation.
Months 1-2 after acceptance

Domains 1 and 2

  • Build the presentation around a design project, rehearsing the defense of your criteria.
  • Practice articulating responsible charge on that project.
Months 3-4

Domains 3, 4, and 5

  • Prepare construction, environmental, and operations examples from your own work.
  • Practice unseen professional-judgment scenarios aloud with a peer or mentor.
Months 5-6

First oral assessment

  • Coordinate the session with ACOPNE well inside the first half of the 12-month window.
  • Keep the second half in reserve for a possible retake.

If you also want exam-style question practice to sharpen your recall across the five areas, our D.PE practice tests can supplement your preparation, though they are not an official question bank and do not predict the oral panel's questions. You can also explore more at the main D.PE Exam Prep site.

Frequently Asked Questions

Are there set D.PE exam dates for 2026?

No fixed testing windows or registration deadlines are specified in the reviewed ACOPNE and CEC sources. The assessment is a credentials review plus panel oral assessment, scheduled after your application is accepted.

How long do I have to finish the assessment after applying?

Required assessments must be completed within 12 months of application acceptance. One retake is allowed on request within that same 12-month period.

How much does the application cost?

The nonrefundable application fee is USD 350 for ASCE and/or Institute members and USD 450 for nonmembers. It includes review, oral assessment, and initial certification.

When does my certification expire once I earn it?

Initial certification expires 31 December of the following year, then renews annually. Renewal requires a valid PE license, 20 relevant PDHs including 2 ethics PDHs, and USD 200 for members or USD 250 for nonmembers.

Is the D.PE now called something else?

The legacy D.PE identity is retained for this site, while the issuer's current designation is Board-Certified Port Engineer (BC.PE). For related naming questions, see D.PE Meaning and What Is A D.PE?.

Ready to pass your D.PE exam?

Put this into practice with free D.PE questions across every exam domain.